Wrington Village Website
Some Other Useful Websites

There are 100s of sites which mention Wrington. Many of these are genealogies.
There are also references in lists by organisations like local government, bellringers, and businesses, as well as individuals -
and LOTS on John Locke !


Mendip Vale Medical Practice
website


FIRMS
Cleeve Nursery - "just over the hill at Cleeve"
Curzon Community Cinema, Clevedon    <www.curzon.org.uk/>

P.J. Hare   <http://www.harepress.co.uk/>

Urchinwood Manor Equitation Centre <http://www.urchinwoodmanor.co.uk/>



LOCAL ACCOMMODATION

  - mainly B & Bs

 

LOCAL CHARITIES


Motivation - develops appropriate technology for Third World countries
<www.motivation.org.uk>

Wateraid - suggested by Jeremy Plumley: "Just one click to make a donation to help Thames Water and WaterAid achieve
our vision of a world where everyone has access to safe water and effective sanitation.

All you have to do is visit <www.givewater.org> Your donation will be paid for by ivewater.org's sponsor, Thames Water, and it only takes a few minutes".

The Luhimba Project

The Swaziland Charitable Trust

 Yeo Valley Lions Club - is part of a charitable worldwide organisation which raises money to provide support to worthy local causes, charities and clubs.

We serve the communities of Claverham, Cleeve, Congresbury, Langford, Puxton, Wrington, Yatton and surrounding areas. We particularly focus on assisting those in need locally, especially the young (through provision of a special needs playground) and the elderly (through provision of the well-known yellow minibus). See our website for more details: www.lionwap.org/yeovalleylions
or call 0845 833 9602.



BROADCASTING

BBC Radio Bristol       <www.bbc.co.uk/radiobristol>


 GOVERNMENT


North Somerset Council         <www.n-somerset.gov.uk/>

North Somerset Planning Department
Follow details and progress of planning applications on-line

North Somerset tourism website         < www.somersetcoast.com>

To ensure any event you are organising is promoted to both residents and visitors to the area, a standard form needs to be completed. Copies of this form can be obtained from the Council's seafront and events unit by emailing
<darran.mason@n-somerset.gov.uk>or ringing (01934) 634993

City of Bristol      <https://www.bristol.gov.uk/>

Trading Standards     https://www.gov.uk/find-local-trading-standards-office 



HEALTH
 Mendip Vale Medical Practice website  <www.wringtonvale.co.uk>

 Sue Parker Kinesiology


SPECIALIST ORGANISATIONS





Action on Hearing Loss   www.rnid.org.uk

Royal National Institute of Blind People  www.rnib.org.uk/welcome1.htm

Breast Cancer Care   www.breastcancercare.org.uk

British Heart Foundation   www.bhf.org.uk

CPRE Avonside http://www.cpreavonside.org.uk/

Cystic Fibrosis Trust   www.cftrust.org.uk

Macmillan Cancer relief    www.macmillan.org.uk

Weston Hospicecare  
<www.westonhospicecaregroup.org.uk> provides physical, psychological, emotional and spiritual care to the 1 in 100 local people with life-limiting illnesses”


EDUCATION



ChurchillAcademy <www.churchill.n-somerset.sch.uk>

Goblin Combe Environment Centre   www.goblincombe.org.uk



POLICE

Crimestoppers   www.crimestoppers-uk.org  

Neighbourhood Watch   www.nwatch.org.uk



HISTORICAL SOURCES


Channel 4 'Time Team'    <www.channel4.com/programmes/time-team/on-demand/16521/001 >

John Locke
<www.hyperhistory.com/online_n2/people_n2/persons6_n2/locke.html>

John Locke letters from Sanford Collection, reported March 2008 by Somerset County Archive:<www.somerset.gov.uk/archives/>



TRAVEL

Bristol International Airport    <www.bristolairport.com/>

Cardiff International Airport    <www.cial.co.uk/>

National Express    <www.nationalexpress.co.uk/>

National Rail Enquiries Online - UK-wide rail timetable, fare & ticket information
 



UTILITIES


Bristol Water    <www.bristolwater.co.uk>

British Gas   
<www.bg-group.com/>

BT   <www.bt.com/>

Economy Power   <www.economy-power.co.uk>

EDF    <www.edfenergy.com>



USEFUL INFORMATION

For children


<www.howstuffworks.com>

<www.nationalgeographic.com/kids>


ARTS

ChurchillMusic 


Weston super Mare Operatic Society www.westonoperatic.org.uk

                                                                        
Birth, marriage, death certificates

BMD Certificates, 2nd Floor, 145-157 St John Street, London EC1V 4PY
We locate and obtain UK (England & Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland) birth,
marriage or death certificates.  www.bmd-certificates.co.uk

Local churches  

CPRE Avonside http://www.cpreavonside.org.uk/

 North Somerset Citizens Advice Bureau

Encyclopaedias
www.britannia.com

www.letsfindout.com

English Heritage   www.english-heritage.org.uk


Maps
BS40 area


John Harris's Walking in Somerset

  Mendip Outdoor Pursuits


Mendip Society   

Mendip Walks
 


National Trust   www.nationaltrust.org.uk

Post Office   www.postoffice.co.uk

Royal Mail    <www.royalmail.com>

RSPCA   www.rspca.org.uk

PET ADOPTION < https://www.homeoanimal.com/the-ultimate-guide-to-pet-adoption>

West of England <www.westofengland.org.uk/>

Which   www.which.com

Wildlife Trust  www.wildlifetrusts.org


Woodland Trust web pages offer free tree/hedge packs to schools and other educational resources

Yellow pages   <www.eyp.co.uk/>



OTHER COMMUNITY WEBSITES