Broad Street Wrington Web Archive
Annual Parish Meeting & Inauguration of
Patient-Practice Partnership 
Friday, 28th April, 2006
This evening Wrington Memorial Hall saw two important occasions: the first, the annual parish meeting, with an attendance of more than 50 - a great improvement on recent years.

Chairman Roy Clements made reference to the parish council's first newsletter, delivered door to door by councillors. He took questions on matters arising from it.
Afterwards, Wringtonians were joined by other patients of the local surgery - from Blagdon, Churchill, Sandford, Congresbury and Winscombe, for the inaugural meeting of the Patient-Practice Partnership of the Wrington Vale Medical Practice.

Drs Hooper, McClatchey, Portas and Tricks joined members of the Steering Group who'd been working for a year with Practice Manager Jose Tarnowski to set things up so far. Chairman Andrew Densham reviewed what had been achieved - the design and production of a first-rate practice leaflet by Jan Murray and Jan Lyons; the recruiting of patients to form a communication network across the area; securing lunchtime surgery access; starting to
draw up a regular series of events on topics of interest and concern, such as out-of-hours care, establishing special interest groups for patients with specific and chronic conditions, and arranging expert speakers on specific subjects.
Copies of a draft constitution were considered, and the meeting unanimously agree to adopt it subject to thought being given to what number would constitute a quorum for future AGMs.

As required by the Constitution, the meeting elected officers and an executive committee drawn from the pre-existing steering group:

Chairman         Andrew Densham (Wrington)
Vice-chairman   Jan Murray (Churchill)
Treasurer        Richard Thorn (Wrington)
Secretary          Jose Tarnowski (
ex officio as Practice Manager)
Committee        Georgie Bigg (Wrington) Jan Lyons (Congresbury)
                           Bernard Openshaw (Sandford)
                                                ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

The first open meeting is on
Tuesday, 16th May
Churchill Primary School hall

to hear from those in the Primary Care Trust
responsible for our
Out-of-Hours provision

See also at