Wrington Men's Friendly Society
|Following an inquiry to the website from an author researching a book on Friendly Societies, Val Yeoman kindly produced these two venerable prints and some fascinating notes.
See also documents relating to dissolution of the Women's Friendly Society in 1948.
More information on the relevant pages of pageants held during Fair weeks.
|Print of a photograph taken at the entrance to 'The Grove'.
Probably taken on a Whit Monday in the late 19th cent, during an annual Club Walk. A large group, in excess of fifty people, including in the centre the Wrington Silver Band (?) of approximately 12 musicians, who are in uniform with white belts and pillbox type hats.
Ranged around the courtyard are members of the Wrington Male Friendly Society (instituted in 1822). Many members carry their poles, topped by the Wrington F.S. emblem (a ball type of tapered brass). There do not appear to be any ribbons attached to the poles (they were probably removed after the church parade). Three or four large banners are carried.
At the left hand side is a figure in uniform (? a policeman). He is wearing a long cape like tunic with a row of buttons down the front. On the sleeve of his right forearm are inverted chevrons. He is wearing a large buckled belt and a tall uniform hat with small brim.
|Wrington Male Friendly Society annual walk from Woods Solicitors office in High Street to All Saints’ church.
Figure left foreground wearing cap and tweed jacket is Bill Lane
Figure with white beard is George Lovell who died in 1912. He was the Sunday School Superintendent and the last Village Overseer, who collected the tithes.
Figure with bowler by his left is Bob Hewitt
Figure with bowler to his right is Herbert C Marshall, farmer, chairman of parish council.
Next to him in cap is Tom Parsley